Electromagnetics Research Group

Fundamental and applied research in the interaction of electromagnetic fields with both electronic and biological systems.
Members of the Electromagnetics Research Group (EMRG) conduct research across a broad range of topics, both fundamental and applied.  The EMRG is comprised of Computational EM research led by Dr. Shanker Balasubramaniam, the Terahertz Systems Lab (TeSLa) led by Dr. Premjeet Chahal, and Applied EM and EM Compatibility led by Dr. Edward Rothwell. Many projects in the group are collaborative efforts between its faculty members and students. Applied research includes the design of microwave frequency selective structures, body-worn antennas, synthetic aperture radar (SAR), and Terahertz sources, sensors, and devices.  Such research also includes the development of new techniques for materials characterization via interrogation by microwave and Terahertz radiation.  Fundamental research is primarily concerned with developing rigorous computational methods for the analysis of fields across the electromagnetic spectrum.  These methods include novel discretization techniques, fast methods in the frequency and time domains, and multiscale analysis.  

Research News

Amanpreet Kaur accepts Best Poster Paper Award at ECTC 2015

During ECTC 2015, which took place during the last week in May in San Diego, CA, lab member Amanpreet Kaur was awarded for having the Best Poster Paper in the previous years conference, ECTC 2014. You can find the publication she is being recognized for here. Congrats Aman!



Aman Kaur wins 2014 ECTC Best Poster Paper

At the 2014 IEEE Electronic Components and Technology Conference (ECTC) Aman presented the paper:

Dr. Shanker Balasubramaniam recieves William J. Beal outstanding Faculty Award

In recognizing outstanding contributions to Education and Research, Dr. Shanker Balasubramaniam received the William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Award at the Awards Convocation which included the President's State of the University Address at the Wharton Center on February 11, 2014.  Only 10 faculty members (< 1%) receive this award annually. See full article at [Link].

IEEE AP-S Student Design Contest 2011

Congratulations to Andrew Temme, Don VanderLaan, and Steve Zajac for being selected as finalists in the 2011 IEEE AP-S Student Design Contest.  Earlier this year, the three were selected as semi-finalists and given funds to build and test a compact antenna measurement system.  This week, it was announced that their design was selected for the final round of the contest.  The team will be travelling to Spokane, WA in July to present their work at the 2011 IEEE International Symposium on Antennas and Propagation.

A video presentation of the team's design can be found here.  

2011 Graduate Office Fellowship (GOF)

Jose A. Hejase of the Terahertz Systems Laboratory (TeSLa) has been awarded the MSU Graduate Office Fellowship for the second year in a row (2010 and 2011).

Dan Dault receives the NSF GRFP Fellowship

Another week, another fellowship !

PhD candidate Dan Dault has been awarded the prestigeous NSF Gradauate Research Fellowship. He has been awarded this fellowship for his proposal to study accelerated method of moment based solutions to scattering from multiscale periodic structures. 

The lab congratulates Dan on this latest feather in his cap. 

Congratulations to Andrew Pray!

Recently, Ph.D. student Andrew Pray was awarded the DoD SMART Scholarship. His winning proposal outlined his plans to develop massively parallel time-domain simulations for multiscale problems in Computational Electromagnetics.  

Andrew joins the ranks of the other Fellowship recipients in the group, including Andrew Baczewski (NSF GRFP), Dan Dault (DoD NDSEG), and Andrew Temme (NSF GRFP).

Travel Award

Nophadon Wiwatcharagoses is among the distinguished recipients of the ECTC 2011 IEEE CPMT travel award for his paper titled, "Microwave Artificially Structured Periodic Media Microfluidic Sensors".  This award is given to a select few students based on the technical content of their paper. The conference will be held between May 31st to June 3rd in Orlando, Florida.

Last year, Jose Hejase was the recipient of this prestigious award for his paper titled, "Terahertz Packaging: Study of Substrates for Novel Component Designs".

APS/URSI Student Paper Finalists and Winners Past and Present

We are excited to announce that a number of our students have been selected as finalists in both the Best Student Paper and Student Design competitions at the 2011 IEEE APS/URSI International Research Symposium.  Andrew Baczewski and Andrew Pray have been selected for their contributions to the Student Paper Competition, and Andrew Temme, Don VanderLaan, and Steve Zajac have had their proposal for a table top antenna pattern measurement system accepted for the Student Design Competition.  All 5 will be presenting their contributions in Spokane, WA in July.  Best of luck!